APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AUGUST SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, August 14, 2007, at 1:00 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Commissioner Hehl pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtvluwer. (9)

Absent: Messrs. Kuyers, Holtrop. (2)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Clerk read a thank you note for the flowers sent from the Goldman family. The Chair so noted and accepted.

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

A brief legislative overview was presented by Bill Zaagman and Donald Van Singel from Governmental Consultants, Incorporated.

- B/C 07-170 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the agenda of today as presented and amended adding Action Item #7 Bond Resolution and adding to Action Item #1 "at a cost of \$85,205.00". The motion passed.
- B/C 07-171 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - To approve the Minutes of the July 17, 2007, Board of Commissioners/Community Mental Health of Ottawa County Board of Directors Joint Work Session Meeting, the July 24, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting and the July 24, 2007, Board of Commissioners Work Session Meeting.
 - 2. To authorize the payroll of August 14, 2007, in the amount of \$478.34
 - 3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 372.
 - 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,364,241.27 as presented by the summary report for July 16, 2007, through July 31, 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Swartout, Disselkoen. (9)

- B/C 07-172 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Professional Services Agreement with Fleis and VandenBrink Engineering, Inc. to prepare a feasibility study, grant application and construction documents for a non-motorized pathway through the Upper Macatawa Natural Area at a cost of \$85,205.00. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-173 Mr. Rycenga moved to receive and approve the Ottawa County Sentenced Work Abatement Program (SWAP) Cost-Analysis and recommend an increase of the hourly fee-for-service rate to \$5.68 effective June 1, 2008. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen, (9)
- B/C 07-174 Mr. Rycenga moved to receive and approve the Ottawa County Sheriff's Senior Volunteer Program Evaluation. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-175 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution in opposition to HB 4852, a bill intended to impose additional fees on the use of telephone devices. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Berghorst, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-176 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to establish an interim smoking ban at the Ottawa County Courthouse Construction Site through December 31, 2009. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs.
 Berghorst, Hehl, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs.
 Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-177 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Conservation Easement conveyed to the Land Conservancy of West Michigan on 88.89 acres at the Upper Macatawa Natural Area and authorize payment of \$5,000 to the Land Conservancy for easement monitoring and stewardship. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Berghorst, Rycenga, Disselkoen. (9)

B/C 07-178 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the Bond Resolution for the Grand Haven Courthouse facility located at 414 Washington Avenue, Grand Haven and the Fillmore Street complex addition located at 12220 Fillmore Street, West Olive. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Rycenga, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (9)

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 07-179 Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 2:11 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk	DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman
Of the Board of Commissioners	Of the Board of Commissioners