APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SEPTEMBER SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, September 11, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Commissioner Schrotenboer pronounced the invocation.

The Deputy Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop. (10)

Absent: Mr. Holtvluwer. (1)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Deputy Clerk read a thank-you note from Mary Park and family for the flower arrangement and a thank-you note from Gloria Pelon and family for the floral arrangement. The Chair so noted and accepted.

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

A. Annual Department of Corrections Jail Inspection – Gary Rosema, Sheriff, reported the Annual Department of Corrections Jail Inspection was completed on August 10th. The Ottawa County Jail is in full compliance.

Sheriff Rosema also announced that ten deputies are being recognized by MADD and the Office of Highway Safety Planning for their efforts in OWI Enforcement through their SALUTE Michigan Law Enforcement. The ten deputies are:

Deputy David Bytwerk	Deputy Chris Todd
Deputy Randy Heaton	Deputy Eric Tubergen
Deputy Jeff Jones	Deputy David Tuttle
Deputy Adam Schaller	Deputy Roger Willard
Deputy Eric Smith	Deputy Christie Wendt

- B/C 07-197 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-198 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the August 28, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of September 11, 2007, in the amount of \$521.73.
- 3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 373.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,065,721.10 as presented by the summary report for August 20, 2007, through August 31, 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen, (10)

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Mr. Schrotenboer commented on meetings attended.

B/C 07-199 Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 1:44 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners

DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman
Of the Board of Commissioners