APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OCTOBER SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, October 9, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Commissioner Holtrop pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Brenda Witte, 9522 Grandridge Dr., Zeeland, addressed the Board regarding her 26 year old, severely and multiply handicapped son, Jason. Jason became ineligible for school services this past August. Brenda questioned the Board who is making the decision at Community Mental Health. The Chair referred this to CMH and the Administrator will contact the Interim CMH Director.

- B/C 07-229 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-230 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - 1. To approve the Minutes of the September 25, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting and Board of Commissioners Work Session Meeting.
 - 2. To authorize the payroll of October 9, 2007, in the amount of \$577.25.
 - 3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 374.
 - 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$5,777,721.53 as presented by the summary report for September 17, 2007, through September 30, 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 07-231 Mr. Berghorst moved to open the Public Hearing at 1:35 p.m. to receive comments on the 2008 budget. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-232 Mr. Holtrop moved to close the Public Hearing on the 2008 Budget. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-233 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to place into nomination the following candidates: *Suzanne Cloutier, Joan Deters, and Jerry Kirsch for appointment as a member on the Ottawa County Canvassers Board representing the Democratic Party to fill one vacancy for a four (4) year term beginning 11-01-07 and expiring 10-31-11. (*Recommended) The motion passed.

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Swartout - CloutierMr. Schrotenboer - CloutierMr. Holtvluwer - CloutierMr. Rycenga - CloutierMrs. Kortman - CloutierMr. Hehl - CloutierMr. Holtrop - CloutierMrs. Ruiter - CloutierMr. Berghorst - CloutierMr. Disselkoen - CloutierMr. Kuyers - CloutierMr. Disselkoen - Cloutier

Total votes: Ms. Cloutier -11, Ms. Deters -0, Mr. Kirsch -0.

The Chair declared Suzanne Cloutier appointed to the Ottawa County Canvassing Board representing the Democratic Party.

B/C 07-234 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to place into nomination the following candidates: Chari Brink, Elizabeth Barveld, and Dianna Johnson for appointment as a member on the Ottawa County Canvassers Board representing the Republican Party to fill one vacancy for a four (4) year term beginning 11-01-07 and expiring 10-31-11. The motion passed.

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Holtvluwer – JohnsonMrs. Kortman - BrinkMrs. Ruiter – JohnsonMr. Berghorst - BrinkMr. Holtrop – JohnsonMr. Hehl - BrinkMr. Rycenga – BrinkMr. Swartout - BrinkMr. Kuyers – JohnsonMr. Disselkoen - BrinkMr. Schrotenboer – BrinkMr. Disselkoen - Brink

Total votes: Ms. Brink – 7, Ms. Barveld – 0, Ms. Johnson – 4.

The Chair declared Chari Brink appointed to the Ottawa County Canvassing Board representing the Republican Party.

Discussion Items

1. 2008 Budget Presentation – June Hagan, Fiscal Services Director, presented the 2008 Budget Summary.

The Administrator's report was presented.

Donald Disselkoen welcomed Terry Burns, Allegan County Commissioner.

B/C 07-235 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 2:43 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners