APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 27, 2008, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mrs. Ruiter pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Clerk read a letter from Timothy McGuire, Michigan Association of Counties, thanking the Board for sending a copy of the Resolution proclaiming July 16 – 19, 2008 as "Road Rage Awareness" Week in Ottawa County. The Chair so noted and accepted.

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Bradley Slagh, Treasurer, stated he received a letter from James Kooyers of Marne thanking for the opportunity to serve as a juror and sent his check back.

Chester Bartels, Olive Township, addressed the Board over his concerns regarding a tax increase and said it was time to stop increasing taxes.

Roger Baldus, Fillmore St., also addressed the Board regarding his concerns about increasing taxes.

Alan Vanderberg, Administrator, reported he has received a number of questions from citizens. The Board is not increasing the millage this year. Ottawa County has the second lowest millage rate in the State of Michigan.

- B/C 08-119 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the agenda of today as presented and amended adding Action Item B-0.1 Public Hearing for the Truth and Taxation Millage. The motion passed
- B/C 08-120 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the May 13, 2008, Board of Commissioners Meeting and Board of Commissioners Work Session Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of May 27, 2008, in the amount of \$582.91.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,150,924.42 as presented by the summary report for May 1, 2008, through May 16, 2008.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of April 2008.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga, Hehl, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 08-121 Mr. Holtrop moved to open the Public Hearing at 1:46 p.m. on the Truth and Taxation Millage. The motion passed
- B/C 08-122 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to close the Public Hearing at 1:47 p.m. The motion passed.
- B/C 08-123 Mr. Rycenga moved to adopt the following proposed Financial Policies (Information provided at the May 13, 2008 Board of Commissioner's meeting):
 - 001 Accounting, Auditing and Financial Reporting Policy
 - 002 Account, Payable Audit Policy
 - 003 Automatic Clearing House (ACH) and Electronic Transactions of Public Funds Policy
 - 004 Capital Asset Policy
 - 005 County Equipment Personal Use Policy
 - 006 Use of Credit Cards to Pay Bills and Purchase Goods and Services from Ottawa County and the Ottawa County Courts Policy
 - 007 Debt Management Policy
 - 008 Financial Goals Policy
 - 009 General Fund Budget Surplus Policy
 - 010 Grants and Third-Party Contract Revenue Policy
 - 011 Infrastructure Program Fund Policy
 - 012 Reimbursement for Livestock Losses Due to Stray Dogs Policy
 - 013 Millage Request Policy
 - 014 Operating Budget Policy
 - 015 Participating in Conferences and Conventions Policy
 - 016 Payment of Accounts Payable Prior to Board Authorization

017 – Per Diem Expense and Mileage Policy
018 – Performance Measurement Policy
019 – Revenue and Expenditure Policy
020 – Risk Management Policy
021 – Investment Policy

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Rycenga, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Swartout, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 08-124 Mr. Swartout moved to approve that \$1,431,970 of the 2007 General Fund fund balance be designated for Buildings and Improvements and \$660,000 be reserved for the 2008 budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-125 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize purchase of military service credits for Robert M. Matyas (Community Mental Health):

County Cost:	\$57,300.00
Employee Cost:	9,258.00
Total Cost:	\$66,558.00

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 08-126 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the proposed Ballot language for the Renewal of the Ottawa County Central Dispatch Authority (OCCDA) millage (911), and to place that ballot question on the August 5, 2008, Primary ballot. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-127 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to Approve the 2008 Millage Rate for Ottawa County to 3.6 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Hehl, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-128 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to Approve the 2008 Millage Rate for E-911

to .4407 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Hehl, Holtrop, Berghorst, Rycenga, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 08-129 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to Approve the 2008 Millage Rate for Parks to .3165 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Rycenga, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-130 Mr. Swartout moved to approve a yearly subscription fee of \$240.00 to be charged to the media/newspapers to access the County Clerk's records for the 20th Circuit Court through the "miOttawa.org" Court Records Search. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Hehl, Berghorst, Swartout, Holtvluwer, Rycenga, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-131 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the expansion of the Ottawa County Sheriff's Department Senior Volunteer Program at a cost of \$6,500, with funding to come from the 2008 Sheriff's Department budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-132 Mrs. Ruiter moved to nominate and appoint *John Field Reichardt to fill one (1) unexpired vacancy on the Ottawa County Officers' Compensation Commission, to begin immediately and ending December 31, 2010. (*Indicates recommendation of the Human Resources Committee). The motion passed.

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 08-133 Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 2:00 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, ClerkDONALD DISSELKOEN, ChairmanOf the Board of CommissionersOf the Board of Commissioners