## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JUNE SESSION –SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, June 24, 2008, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Schrotenboer pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtvluwer. (10)

Absent: Mr. Holtrop. (1)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

- A. Government Finance Officers Association's (GFOA) Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting for the County of Ottawa's December 31, 2006 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report – June Hagan, Fiscal Services Director, presented Connie VanderSchaaf with the Certificate of Achievement.
- B. Government Finance Officers Association's (GFOA) Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for the fiscal year beginning January 1, 2008 – June Hagan, Fiscal Services Director, recognized the following Fiscal Services employees: Mary Cafmeyer, Don Brookhouse, Elizabeth Lyyski, Shannon McGoran, and Suzanne Kampenga.
- B/C 08-143 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 08-144 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
  - 1. To approve the Minutes of the June 10, 2008, Board of Commissioners Meeting and Board of Commissioners Work Session Meeting.
  - 2. To authorize the payroll of June 24, 2008, in the amount of \$524.23.
  - 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,285,747.75 as presented by the summary report for June 1, 2008, through June 13, 2008.

- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of May 2008.
- 5. To receive the Government Finance Officers Association's Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting for the County of Ottawa's December 31, 2006, Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.
- 6. To receive the Government Finance Officers Association's Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for the fiscal year beginning January 1, 2008.
- 7. To receive for information the Annual "Balance in Land Sale Proceeds Account" Report.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (10)

- B/C 08-145 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the proposal from 20<sup>th</sup> Circuit Court Juvenile Services/Detention Center to eliminate two (2) of eight (8) benefited part-time Youth Specialist positions and increase the hours of the remaining six part-time Youth Specialist positions to full-time and create one (1) full-time Shift Supervisor position. This proposal results in anticipated cost savings of \$5,877. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 08-146 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the proposal from Public Health to reclassify a .6 FTE Records Processing Clerk II and a 1.0 FTE Records Processing Clerk III to a 1.0 FTE Administrative Assistant (Unclassified paygrade 03). This proposal results in anticipated cost savings of \$11,931. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Hehl, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 08-147 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to accept and approve the 2008 Final Order of the Ottawa County Tax Allocation Board; allocating 4.440 mills to the County of Ottawa. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Hehl, Berghorst, Rycenga, Disselkoen. (10)

- B/C 08-148 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the Resolution Declaring the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners' Intent to Reimburse Project Expenditures for the Grandville Wastewater Treatment Plant with Bond Proceeds. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Rycenga, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 08-149 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the use of contingency funds for the purchase of Military Service Credits through MERS for Robert M. Matyas, in the amount of \$57,300.

County Cost:	\$57,300.00
Employee Cost:	<u>\$ 9,258.00</u>
Total Cost:	\$66,558.00

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Hehl, Berghorst, Swartout, Holtvluwer, Rycenga, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)

## **Reports**

- Report on Declaration of State of Emergency Bill W. Smith, Director of Emergency Management Unit, presented a brief update on the "Local Declaration of a State of Emergency". He recommended extending the local declaration with Ottawa County through Tuesday, July 8, 2008.
- B/C 08-150 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to extend the "Local Declaration of a State of Emergency" within Ottawa County through Tuesday, July 8, 2008, at 1:30 p.m. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (10)

The County Administrator's report was presented.

B/C 08-151 Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 2:00 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk	DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman
Of the Board of Commissioners	Of the Board of Commissioners