## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AUGUST SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, August 12, 2008, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Berghorst pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

- B/C 08-182 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the agenda of today as presented and amended with a substitute motion for Action Item C1 Appointment to the Ottawa County Community Mental Health Board. The motion passed.
- B/C 08-183 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
  - 1. To approve the Minutes of the July 22, 2008, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
  - 2. To authorize the payroll of August 12, 2008, in the amount of \$582.91.
  - 3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 384.
  - 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$5,278,709.74 as presented by the summary report for July 14, 2008, through July 31, 2008.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Rycenga, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Swartout, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 08-184 Mr. Swartout moved to remove from the table Motion B/C 08-171 Resolution: Ottawa County Board of Road Commissioners' Millage Proposal Ballot Language. The motion passed.
- B/C 08-185 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution approving the Ballot Language for the Ottawa County Board of Road Commissioners' Millage Proposal for the November 2008 General Election. The motion passed as shown by the

following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Kuyers, Disselkoen. (8)

Nays: Messrs. Berghorst, Holtvluwer, Holtrop. (3)

B/C 08-186 Mrs. Ruiter moved to receive the nominations of Christina L. Wehmer, \*Nancy Jeanne Hesse, and Dan VanOmmen and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) unexpired Primary Consumer vacancy on the Ottawa County Community Mental Health Board to begin immediately and end March 31, 2009. (\*Recommended by committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Holtrop – Hesse
Mr. Holtvluwer – Hesse
Mr. Swartout – Hesse
Mr. Schrotenboer – Hesse
Mr. Kortman – Hesse
Mr. Disselkoen - Hesse

Mr. Kuyers – Hesse

Total votes received: Ms. Wehmer -0, Ms. Hesse -11, Mr. VanOmmen -0.

The Chair declared Nancy Jeanne Hesse appointed to the Community Mental Health Board.

B/C 08-187 Mrs. Ruiter moved to receive the nominations of Kirk M. Walker and \*George C. Jackson and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) vacancy on the KOM Foreign Trade Zone Board to begin immediately and end December 31, 2009. (\*Recommended by committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Berghorst – Jackson
Mr. Kuyers – Jackson
Mr. Holtrop – Jackson
Mr. Kortman – Jackson
Mr. Holtvluwer – Jackson
Mr. Disselkoen - Jackson

Mr. Schrotenboer – Jackson

Total votes received: Mr. Walker – 0, Mr. Jackson – 11.

The Chair declared George C. Jackson appointed to the KOM Foreign Trade Zone Board.

Mr. Disselkoen welcomed Robert Karsten to the Board Meeting.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

B/C 08-188 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to adjourn at 1:55 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners
Of the Board of Commissioners