APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS NOVEMBER SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, November 11, 2008, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Chaplain Linda Zoerhof spoke to the Board of behalf of Veterans' Day. The Chaplain pronounced the invocation.

Commissioners Swartout, Rycenga, Berghorst and Schrotenboer led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

Presentation of Petitions and Communication

The Clerk read a thank-you card from Mr. and Mrs. Mark Knudsen for the flowers. The Chair so noted and accepted.

Public Comments and Communication from County Staff

Tom Vandenberg, 156 Glendale, Holland, spoke against the repeal of the liquor ban.

Jim Storey, 344 W. 35th., Holland, representing the "Say Yes to Sunday" Committee, asked the Board to pursue the repeal of the final liquor ban, bottled spirits, to make Ottawa a full service County.

Roz Mayberry, 200 S. 2nd St., Grand Haven, representing Spartan Stores, asked the Board for their support of the repeal of the liquor ban.

The Chair noted the repeal will be referred to the next Planning and Policy Committee Meeting. Greg Rappleye noted he wrote a legal opinion on the Effective Date of Repeal of Sunday Sale of Beer and Wine; and Related Matters.

- B/C 08-281 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 08-282 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the October 28, 2008, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of November 11, 2008, in the amount of \$582.91.
- 3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 387.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$5,617,463.87 as presented by the summary report for October 20, 2008, through October 31, 2008.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 08-283 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the proposed "Professional Services Agreement" with Equity Resource Environmental (Mark Kooyers) for the proposed cell phone tower at Fillmore Street, at a County cost of \$2,550.00. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-284 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the proposed Survey Services Agreement with Nederveld, Inc., for the proposed cell phone tower at Fillmore Street, at an estimated County cost of not to exceed \$3,500.00. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yes: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Hehl, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 08-285 Mrs. Ruiter moved to place into nomination the names of *Russell V.
 Brown, Jr., *Chris Larson, W. Robert Huff, Gregory J. DeJong and
 *Thomas A. Palarz and appoint one (1) to fill a one (1) member vacancy on the Ottawa County Road Commission to serve a six (6) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2014. (*Recommended by Committee.)

First roll call vote:

Mr. Holtrop – Larson	Mrs. Ruiter - Larson
Mr. Berghorst – Palarz	Mr. Swartout - Palarz
Mr. Holtvluwer – Palarz	Mr. Kuyers - Larson
Mr. Schrotenboer – Palarz	Mrs. Kortman - Larson
Mr. Rycenga – Brown	Mr. Disselkoen – Brown

Mr. Hehl – Palarz

Results of the roll call vote: Mr. Brown -2, Mr. Larson -4, Mr. Huff -0, Mr. DeJong -0, and Mr. Palarz -5.

Second roll call vote:

Mr. Holtrop – Larson	Mrs. Ruiter - Larson
Mr. Berghorst – Palarz	Mr. Swartout - Palarz
Mr. Holtvluwer – Palarz	Mr. Kuyers - Larson
Mr. Schrotenboer – Palarz	Mrs. Kortman - Larson
Mr. Rycenga – Palarz	Mr. Disselkoen - Palarz
Mr. Hehl – Palarz	

Results of the roll call vote: Mr. Larson -4, Mr. Palarz -7.

The Chair declared Thomas Palarz appointed to the Ottawa County Road Commission.

The Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 08-286 Mr. Hehl moved to adjourn at 2:02 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk Of the Board of Commissioners DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners