## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION – WORK SESSION

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Monday, January 7, 2008, at 12:43 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

Staff: Alan Vanderberg, Administrator; June Hagan, Fiscal Services Director; Greg Rappleye, Corporation Counsel; Erika Rosebrook, Assistant Administrator; Jessica Kinser, Management Financial Analyst; Sherri Sayles, Deputy Clerk; Paul Geerlings, Drain Commissioners; Gary Scholten, Register of Deeds; Bradley Slagh, Treasurer; Ronald Frantz, Prosecutor; Media

The meeting started with everyone sharing something they had learned from their first job.

## Work Session Item:

A. Business Plan Update – The Administrator gave a brief overview today's meeting.

Administration gave a review of the progress made on the 2006-2007 Business Plan objectives. There was a lot of time spent in the last year working with the ranking agency on the County's credit rating. The 2008 Citizens Survey will be distributed in about a month.

The Commissioners each completed and turned in a 2006-07 Strategic Plan Survey

The Commissioners then completed the SWOT Analysis listing strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats within Ottawa County.

Break 2:23 p.m. – 2:38 p.m.

After break, the Commissioners identified their 2008-09 objectives. The Commissioners were then asked to rank the objectives. Because of time, Mr. Swartout asked the Administrator to design a spreadsheet for ranking purposes that the Commissioners could complete and return. The Administrator will prepare and send the spreadsheet out.

Jessica Kinser gave a brief update of the Discretionary Services Presentation noting update changes were made in red.

B/C 08-006 Mr. Swartout moved to adjourn at 4:30 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners

DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman
Of the Board of Commissioners