HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Approved Minutes

DATE: October 13, 2008

TIME: 3:00 p.m.

PLACE: Fillmore Street Complex

PRESENT: Jane Ruiter, James Holtrop, Gordon Schrotenboer, Philip Kuyers

ABSENT: Joyce Kortman

STAFF & GUESTS: Alan Vanderberg, Administrator; Marie Waalkes, Human Resources Director; Sherri Sayles, Deputy Clerk; Dave Schipper, Community Corrections Director; Jessica Kinser, Management Financial Analyst

SUBJECT: CONSENT ITEMS

HR 08-037 Motion: To approve by consent the agenda of today as presented and to approve by consent the minutes of the September 15, 2008, meeting as

presented.

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD - BUSINESS SECTOR

HR 08-038 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the

names of *Richard Sibley, *Claudia Berry, *James Holtrop, Paul W. Scalf and Keri McCarthy to fill three (3) of four (4) Business Sector vacancies on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2011. (*

Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Kuyers UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD – EDUCATION

HR 08-039 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the

name of *Eric Packer to fill one (1) Education vacancy on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board to serve a three (3) year term

beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2011. (*

Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

SUBJECT: PARKS & RECREATION COMMISSION

HR 08-040

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the names of Paul W. Scalf, Betty Gajewski, John Burmeister, Renee Cross, Chris Larson, Dan Van Ommen, W. Robert Huff, Gregory J. De Jong, *David Van Ginhoven, James C, Keys, Russell V. Brown, Jr., and James Marek to fill one (1) member vacancy on the Ottawa County Parks and Recreation Commission to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2011. (*Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Holtrop UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION BOARD

HR 08-041

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the names of Gregory J. De Jong and * Edward Mayo to fill one (1) vacancy on the Ottawa County Economic Development Corporation Board to serve a six (6) year term beginning February 1, 2009, and ending January 31, 2015. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS ADVISORY BOARD – ATTORNEY

HR 08-042

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of * Joseph C. Legatz to fill one (1) Attorney vacancy on the Ottawa County Community Corrections Advisory Board to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2010, and to waive the 12-year term limit.

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS ADVISORY BOARD – GENERAL PUBLIC

HR 08-043

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the names of Robert Piper and * Howard Ryan Brown to fill one (1) General Public vacancy on the Ottawa County Community Corrections Advisory Board to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2010. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Holtrop UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS ADVISORY BOARD – SERVICE AREA

PAGE 3 HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE 10/13/08

HR 08-044 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of * William L. Raymond to fill one (1) Service Area vacancy on the Ottawa County Community Corrections Advisory Board to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2010. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: AGRICULTURAL PRESERVATION BOARD – AGRICULTURAL INTERESTS

HR 08-045 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of * Luke Meerman to fill one (1) of three (3) Agricultural Interests vacancies on the Ottawa County Agricultural Preservation Board to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2011. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Holtrop

UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: AGRICULTURAL PRESERVATION BOARD – REALTOR/DEVELOPER REPRESENTATIVE

HR 08-046 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of * Gregory J. De Jong to fill one (1) Realtor/Developer Representative vacancy on the Ottawa County Agricultural Preservation Board to serve a one (1) year term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2009. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH BOARD – PRIMARY CONSUMER

HR 08-047 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the names of * Nancy (Penny) Hesse and Dan Van Ommen to fill one (1) Primary Consumer vacancy on the Ottawa County Mental Health Board to serve a three (3) year term beginning April 1, 2009, and ending March 31, 2012. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH BOARD – FAMILY MEMBER

HR 08-048 Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the names of * Richard Kanten, Maureen Van Hoven, and Paul W. Scalf to fill one (1) Family member vacancy on the Ottawa County Mental Health

PAGE 4 HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

10/13/08

Board to serve a three (3) year term beginning April 1, 2009, and ending March 31, 2012. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Schrotenboer

UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: BUILDING AUTHORITY

HR 08-049

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the names of * Jack R. Smant and W. Robert Huff to fill one (1) member vacancy on the Ottawa County Building Authority to serve a term beginning January 1, 2009, and ending upon the completion of Grand Haven County Building, West Olive County Building and Central Dispatch Building Projects or December 31, 2011 (whichever comes first), and to waive the 12-year term limit. (* Recommended by Committee.) Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: WEST MICHIGAN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION/CEDS COMMISSION – PRIVATE SECTOR

HR 08-050

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of * James A. Marek to fill one (1) Private Sector on the West Michigan Regional Planning Comission/CEDS Commission to serve a one (1) year term beginning on January 1, 2009, and ending December 31, 2009. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Moved by: Holtrop

UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES BOARD

HR 08-051

Motion: To nominate and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of *Gary DeWitt to fill one (1) member vacancy on the Ottawa County Department of Human Services Board to serve a three (3) year term beginning on October 1, 2008, and ending September 30, 2011, and to waive the 12-year term limit. (* Recommended by Committee.) Moved by: Schrotenboer UNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.