Sheriff's Office

Road Patrol - Uniform Operations

Captain John Wolffis
12220 Fillmore Street
West Olive, MI 49460
Phone: (616) 738-4039
Fax: (616) 738-4061

The Operations part of the Road Patrol Unit is comprised of command staff and road patrol deputies who are funded by the County of Ottawa. Captain Wollfis also oversees the Traffic Services Unit, Marine Unit, Reserve Unit, Dive Team and Mounted Unit.

The command staff is made up of:

  • Sgt. Chris Koster - Training Sergeant
  • Sgt. Bob Ruster - Administrative Sergeant
  • Sgt. Brian Buter
  • Sgt. Chris Dill
  • Sgt. James Douglas
  • Sgt. Rick Sykes
  • Sgt. Christie Wendt
  • Sgt. Matt Wildfong

The road patrol deputies are divided into quadrants throughout the county as follows.

Holland/Zeeland (Southwest) Patrol Area

Day Shift

Deputy Joe Bares
Deputy Mark Sheren
Deputy Matt VanLiere

Night Shift

Deputy Patrick Gedeon
Deputy Maher Nasif
Deputy Tyler VanDoeselaar
Deputy Greg Walski

Jenison (Southeast) Patrol Area

Day Shift

Deputy Bill Cousins
Deputy Scott Dyke

Night Shift

Deputy Dean Hanson
Deputy Adam Schaller

Marne (Northeast) Patrol Area

Day Shift

Deputy Meri-Beth Brouwer
Deputy Martin Fish

Night Shift

Deputy Mike Hallmeyer
Deputy Cassie Tolman

Spring Lake Township (Northwest) Patrol Area

Day Shift

Deputy Scott Ippel
Deputy Shawn James

Night Shift

Deputy Thomas Steffes
Deputy Tim Zeerip

Grand Haven Township (Western) Patrol Area

Day Shift

Deputy Frank Dobroc
Deputy Jeff Somers

Night Shift

Deputy Keith Biros
Deputy Ryan Popma

Traffic Services Unit

Deputy Pete Feliciano
Deputy Bob Jewell
Deputy David Tuttle

Animal Control Unit

Deputy Jeff Hannah
Deputy Luke Wiersma

Dive Team/Marine Unit/Mounted Unit

Sgt. Eric Westveer

Reserve Unit

Sgt. Chris Koster

In addition to the deputies assigned to a quadrant of the county, we have K-9 deputies who patrol the entire county and are available for canine calls, as well as, regular calls for service. Currently, our K-9 deputies are Deputy Mark Busse with Canine Andy, Deputy Jeremy Osbun with Canine Kyan, and Deputy Chris Armstrong with Canine Blitz, and Deputy Tony Stariha with Canine Pappy. As well as our Traffic Services Unit, Animal Control Unit, Marine Unit, Reserve Unit, and Dive Team.