Sheriff's Office

The Protector Monument

The monument is a life-size, bronze statue surrounded by brick pavers plus markers to thank large donors and to honor fallen officers in Ottawa County.

"Making a difference in the communities we serve" has been the philosophy of the Ottawa County Sheriff's Office. This is the focus of the men and women of the department who serve our communities and those who serve in corrections. We believe everyone who serves in the Sheriff's Office makes a difference and adds to the quality of life within our county. During a moving dedication ceremony, the monument was unveiled and dedicated on May 15, 2015. The Protector Monument is a memorial to past officers, a tribute to those presently serving, and a challenge of excellence to those who will serve in the future. Donations from individuals and businesses made this project possible and we sincerely thank them all. The public is welcome and encouraged to view the monument located at the Sheriff's Office Headquarters in West Olive.

A close-up look of the bronze statue. Engraved paving bricks were sold to fund the monument.

A marker by Custom Engraving Inc. honors those lost in the line of duty:
Officer William Glerum
Reserve Deputy Arlyn Gort
Officer Scott Flahive
Officer Trevor Slot

Large donors are recognized on a marker.

Thank you to everyone who contributed to the project.

Large donors included:

  • Belden Brick & Supply
  • Borculo Wrecker Service
  • Canteen Services, Inc.
  • Chris-Tina Fund of the GHACF
  • Consumers Energy
  • County Of Ottawa
  • De Witt’s Auto Service, Inc.
  • DeWitt Barrels, Inc.
  • ESPEC North America, Inc.
  • Goodale Enterprises
  • HS Die & Engineering, Inc.
  • Holland Charter Township
  • Lamar Construction
  • Landscape Design Services, Inc.
  • Newhoff Construction Company
  • Northland Farms
  • Ottawa County Command Officer’s Association
  • Ottawa County Deputy Sheriff’s Association
  • Police Officers Labor Council
  • Raymer Water Supply Contractors
  • School of Police Staff & Command #328
  • SoundOff Signal
  • Sunrise Acres Egg Farm A Family Farm Since 1949
  • T & D Electric, Inc.
  • Tele-Rad, Inc.
  • Bill Tysman Trucking
  • VanLaan Concrete Construction, Inc.
  • Waste Management
  • Zagers Pool & Spa
  • Zeeland Charter Township

Protector Monument Committee Members included:

  • Captain Valerie Weiss
  • Sheriff’s Administrative Assistant Lisa Wilcox
  • Reserve Deputy Randy Price
  • Captain Robert Tease
  • Captain John Wolffis
  • Sergeant Brent Converse
  • Sergeant Dave Colvin
  • Deputy Tim Smith
  • Deputy Tonya Kimber
  • Deputy Sarah Flick
  • Deputy Meri-Beth Brouwer
  • Deputy Michael Tamminga
  • Deputy Mike Roelofs
  • Deputy Randy Heaton
  • Deputy Dick Schipper
  • Deputy Matt Vanliere