Sheriff's Office

Browse Sheriff

Featured Topics

Online Services



Community Policing

Recognizing that a significant amount of law enforcement response is reactive in nature, the administration of the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office has consistently moved in the direction of community-oriented policing. Our goal is to work directly with local elected officials, schools, courts, businesses and community leaders to identify specific areas of need and develop strategies to address those needs. We believe that the proactive measures involved in community policing concepts have a direct impact on the reactive actions required of law enforcement. Community-oriented policing has proven to be a valuable tool in dealing with the rapid growth occurring within Ottawa County.

Cooperative efforts between local units of government, school districts, and the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office have lead to many successful Federal grant awards over the years, such as the Department of Justice “COPS” Grant. These programs have provided much of the initial financial foundation for the growth of community policing in Ottawa County. Continued support and partnerships by local units of government, schools, and the county have made community-oriented policing a stable, effective method of proactive law enforcement within Ottawa County.

Community policing deputies are a visible presence in the communities they serve. In addition to actively participating in community events, the deputies work closely with local units of government, schools, and courts on issues specific to that particular entity. Listed below are some examples of the various Community Policing Programs and activities in which deputies participate.

  • Crime Free Multi-Housing Programs
  • Zoning Ordinance Enforcement
  • Bicycle Patrols
  • Child Passenger Safety Education
  • Neighborhood Watch
  • Bicycle/Helmet Safety Education
  • Hunter Safety Instruction
  • Boating Safety Instruction
  • Senior Citizen Issues/Presentations
  • Business Interests/Presentations
  • Bicycle Registration Programs
  • Quality of Life Issues
  • Traffic Control-Selective Enforcement
  • Vacation Property Watch
  • In addition to the programs listed, deputies also focus their efforts on temporary problem solving, such as traffic enforcement in a newly created construction zone, follow-up on school bus violations, and enforcement of sex offender registration laws. Finally, all community policing deputies carry a criminal investigation caseload as a part of their obligation to the community they serve.

    Deputies assigned to township or city community policing positions are as follows:

    Holland Township     Park Township     Hudsonville City
    Sgt. Brent Converse
    Deputy Erick Porter
    Deputy Joe Michmerhuizen
    Deputy Garry Fox
    Deputy Kristina Workman
    Deputy Michael VandenBosch
    Deputy Stacy Scholten
    Deputy Tony Boersema
    Sgt. Brent Converse
    Deputy Michael Dewitt
    Deputy Garry Fox
    Deputy Kristina Workman
    Deputy Michael VandenBosch
    Sgt. Mike Bagladi
    Deputy Chad Klaver
    Deputy Jon Knott
    Deputy Mark Sheren
    Deputy Mike Petroelje
    Deputy Cassie Tolman
    Georgetown Township Zeeland Township Spring Lake Township
    Sgt. Jeff Steigenga
    Deputy Nick Knott
    Deputy Adam Schaller
    Deputy Eric Smith
    Deputy John Ortman
    Deputy Brad Bennett
    Sgt. Derek Christensen
    Deputy Ryan Huizenga
    Deputy Rachel McDuffee
    Sgt. Derek Christensen
    Deputy Jon Smoes
    Deputy Travis Babcock
    Allendale Township Jamestown Township Port Sheldon Township

    Sgt.Chris Dill
    Deputy Brandon Tubergan
    Deputy Jacob Mucha

    Sgt. Derek Christensen
    Deputy Sarah Flick
    Sgt. Derek Christensen
    Deputy Michael Veldkamp
    Coopersville City Grand Haven Township Polkton, Chester &Tallmadge Twps

    Sgt. Dennis Luce
    Deputy Shane Ryke
    Deputy Dan Lewkowski
    Deputy Forrest Sabo
    Deputy Tony Stariha
    Deputy Tim Zeerip

    Sgt. Derek Christensen
    Deputy Keith Biros
    Deputy Ryan DeVries
    Deputy Chris Reuwer
    Deputy Chris Todd
    Sgt. Dennis Luce
    Deputy Allison Anderson
    Spring Lake Village/Ferrysburg City        

    Sgt. Jason Kik
    Deputy Corey Allard
    Deputy Jacob MacKeller
    Deputy Joe Steinhauer
    Deputy Brian Tucker
    Deputy Sean Turbett
    Deputy Greg Walski
    Deputy James Dyer




    • Gary A. Rosema

    • Steve Kempker


    • 12220 Fillmore Street
      West Olive, MI 49460
    • Phone: (616) 738-4000
      FAX: (616) 738-4062
    • In Ottawa County:
      (888) 731-1001
    • Monday - Friday:
      8:00am - 5:00pm

    County Jail

    • 12130 Fillmore Street
      West Olive, MI 49460
    • Phone: (616) 786-4140
    • Monday - Friday:
      8:00am - 5:00pm